It all started when...
Henry Sherrill, a Revolutionary War Minuteman turned successful merchant, commissioned Jeremiah Peirson to build a home of noble stature, to stand as a signifier of his wealth across the road from his bustling trading post. The year was 1792. The home remained in the family for several generations. In the late 1880's the property was home to a reputable boarding school, and given the name Kenmore Hall. At that time, in affiliation with the Boston Museum of Fine Arts, Kenmore became a prominent Summer Art School. Presided over by Frederic Crowninshield, the property hosted students such as Newton MacIntosh, Robert Lewis Reid, and Daniel Chester French, whose time in Richmond was so lovely, he would later return to build a home and studio, Chesterwood, in nearby Stockbridge.
In the decades to come, Kenmore would return to being at times a private home, a parsonage, and, in the thirties, a Summer Guest House. Ties to the Koussevitskys forged a long standing connection to Tanglewood and the Boston Symphony. Musicians and composers filled the house with life, creativity, and the sounds of their craft. Leonard Bernstein spent summers in the guest cottage, and dined with friends such as Aaron Copland in the main house.
Frank and Antoinette Scaduto purchased Kenmore in the early 1960's and continued offering their home as a summer guest house for symphony members and friends. Frank played the mandolin and grew tomatoes in the fields, their daughters picked flowers from the meadows, and tables were laden in a legendary fashion for all who were lucky enough to join them at mealtime.
In January of 2018, fashion designer Frank Muytjens and artist/restaurateur Scott Edward Cole became the most recent stewards of this magnificent property. Painstakingly restored and subtly enhanced with modern updates, Kenmore Hall is now ready to receive guests who appreciate such things. Guests who will be surrounded by this rich history. Guests, like you, who will make their own memories, and make history here.